Lisbeth Salander Returns

the legacy continues...

The next installment in the Millenium series will be a trilogy written by bestselling Swedish author Karin Smirnoff! This is the first time this series will be written and translated by a woman, and Karin (from a small town in northern Sweden, just like Stieg Larsson himself) could not be a more perfect choice. The as-yet-untitled seventh Millenium novel will be published in the UK on August 31, 2023 and in the U.S. and Canada on September 5, 2023.

Karin's own books have sold over 700,000 copies, and she says, “I said yes to the project without hesitation, even though it postpones my own ideas for new novels. It’s an exciting opportunity to independently create and make something new based on a unique fictional universe that is known worldwide. The Millennium books are classics in their genre, where the combination of unforgettable characters and the strong political and societal engagement still fascinates readers. I will continue to build on Stieg Larsson's core themes, such as violence, abuse of power, and contemporary political currents.”

Stay tuned for more news about the publication, a final cover, and links to pre-order in the coming months!


THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING SENSATION. In these page-turning thrillers, a crusading journalist and a cyberpunk hacker team up to drag Sweden’s darkest secrets into the light: family scandals, political corruption, sex crimes, and murder. Experience Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Series, which introduced the world to one of the most original, unforgettable characters in crime fiction: Lisbeth Salander, the girl with the dragon tattoo and a quest for revenge.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Stieg Larsson

An international publishing sensation, Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo combines murder mystery, family saga, love story, and financial intrigue into one satisfyingly complex and entertainingly atmospheric novel.

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

The Girl Who Played with Fire

Stieg Larsson

Part blistering espionage thriller, part riveting police procedural, and part piercing exposé on social injustice, The Girl Who Played with Fire is a masterful, endlessly satisfying novel.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Stieg Larsson

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest

Stieg Larsson

In Book III, Lisbeth Salander lies in critical condition in a Swedish hospital, a bullet in her head. But she’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if and when she recovers, she’ll stand trial for three murders.

The Girl in the Spider's Web by David Lagercrantz, George Goulding

The Girl in the Spider's Web

David Lagercrantz

Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist return in this ripped-from-the-headlines, high-octane follow-up to Stieg Larsson’s The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest.

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye by David Lagercrantz, George Goulding

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye

David Lagercrantz

The series continues as brilliant hacker Lisbeth Salander teams up with journalist Mikael Blomkvist to uncover the secrets of her childhood and take revenge.

The Girl Who Lived Twice by David Lagercrantz, George Goulding

The Girl Who Lived Twice

David Lagercrantz

Lisbeth Salander must face the most important battle of her life, and will finally put her past to rest in this thriller that will “leave Salander’s legion of followers clamoring for more” (WSJ).


Stieg Larsson

Stieg Larsson

Stieg Larsson, who lived in Sweden, was the editor in chief of the magazine Expo and a leading expert on antidemocratic, right-wing extremist, and Nazi organizations. He died in 2004, shortly after delivering the manuscripts for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest.
David Lagercrantz

David Lagercrantz

David Lagercrantz is an acclaimed author and journalist. His continuations of Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy—The Girl in the Spider’s Web, The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye, and The Girl Who Lived Twice—are worldwide best sellers. He is also the author of I Am Zlatan Ibrahimović and Fall of Man in Wilmslow. He lives in Stockholm.

Karin Smirnoff Author Photo

Karin Smirnoff

Karin Smirnoff is a bestselling author in her native Sweden where her books have sold more than 700,000 copies. She was born in Umeå, a small hamlet in northern Sweden, just a short drive south from where Stieg Larsson himself grew up. Her debut novel, My Brother, was a critically acclaimed bestseller and has since been shortlisted for the prestigious August Prize, translated into eleven languages, and optioned for TV.

Listen to a clip from the latest installment in the series!

Stay in Touch

Sign me up for news about books, authors, and more from Penguin Random House.
Also get news about:

By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Back to top